Lake Superior College

A to Z Database Listing
-A-

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily.
Academic Search Premier Interactive Tutorial Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
In this tutorial, you will learn how to find full-text articles in Academic Search Premier (ASP) while discovering a variety of search techniques and features to refine your results.
Alt HealthWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 190 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
American History in Video Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. 

 

-B-

Britannica Academic Encyclopedia Unrestricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains videoeref ebook
Comprehensive academic online encyclopedia.

Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of scholarly journals and trade publications across all business subject areas. Includes detailed company profiles, industry, market research, and country economic reports, and much more. Includes the Harvard Business Review, Forbes, Fortune and thousands of others titles. Updated daily.
 

-C-


CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and audiovisuals.
Consumer Health Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Contexts
Print Location: LSC Library PERIODICALS Restricted Resource Some full text available
Note: Try logging-in from off-campus using this link: https://mnpals-lsc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MNPALS_LSC/mm9aso/alma9989769618004282
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageseref ebook
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books!
 

-D-

Discovering Collection Restricted Resource
Designed for students in grades 8-12, this database includes literary criticisms, timelines, primary source documents, audio and video clips, maps, images, flags, and more.
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
 

-E-

EasyBib Unrestricted Resource
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text availableebook
Search and view the full text of ebooks.
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
ERIC Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

 

-F-

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
 

-G-

Gale Resources Restricted Resource Some full text available
Accesses and allows cross-searching of the Gale databases which include: Opposing Viewpoints In Context, General Science Collection, Professional Collection, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Educator's Reference Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, Informe Academico, General Science Collection, Student Edition, Student Resources In Context, Kids InfoBits,  and Research In Context.  
General Science Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
General Science Collection with 1,707,035 articles from 1980 through 2010.
Global Road Warrior Restricted Resource
Extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history and language world-wide. 
 

-H-

Health Source Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. Included in Consumer Health Complete and Explora Library databases.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers.
 

-I-

Interview Stream Unrestricted Resource
A valuable practice tool that allows you to record answers to interview questions and critique your performance on your own, or with an instructor, friend or family member! InterviewStream also includes resources to help you in the areas you want to improve. You’ll need to create an account to get started.
 

-J-

JSTOR
 

-K-

Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos.
 

-L-

Learning Express Library Restricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Restricted Resource
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
 

-M-

MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for popular magazines in all subject areas. Includes reference books, book reviews, biographies, primary source documents, and images. Excellent coverage of consumer information, education, health, science, social science, arts, current events, and more. Includes Consumer Reports, Parenting, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles. Updated daily.
MNPals Catalog Unrestricted Resource
Searches the collections of all MNPals conosrtium libraries.
 

-N-

National Library of Medicine Unrestricted Resource
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics.
NewsBank Restricted Resource Some full text available
Newsbank delivers U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources. Diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes access to current and archived articles of the Duluth News-Tribune.
 

-O-

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
 

-P-

Poetry Foundation Unrestricted Resource
Note: Poems, prose, collections POETRY magazine
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues.
Professional Development Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
PubMed Unrestricted Resource
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals.
 

-R-

Regional Business News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas across the U.S. Updated daily.
 

-S-

Salem History Restricted Resource
Salem History provides online access to a selection of history reference works such as Great Lives from History, The Seventies in America, and Milestone Documents.
Science Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Social Problems Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
​Research publication that covers many areas of sociology including conflict and change; crime and juvenile delinquency, health and mental health; poverty, class, and inequality among other current issues. 
Special Care in Dentistry; online access January 2015 - Unrestricted Resource
Official journal of the American Association of Hospital Dentists, the Academic of Dentistry for the Handicapped, and the American Society for Geriatric Dentistry. Beginning in 2015, this journal is available online only and is accessible using this link. The library holds physical copies for years 2006 - 2014.
Special Reports (NewsBank) Restricted Resource
NewsBank's Special Reports focuses on topics of current interest.
Student Resources In Context Restricted Resource
Designed for use by high school students for both homework and in-depth research assignments. Contains reference works, biographies, essays, overviews, primary works, images, and periodical articles.

 


Powered by SubjectsPlus