Texas Learn OER: Welcome to Texas Learn OER! Your learning includes a series of self-paced online learning modules. The first nine modules will serve as an introduction to open educational resources (OER) and as an opportunity for further exploration and discovery of open education practices. The tenth module serves as a final assessment of your learning. Throughout the modules there are opportunities for you to test your knowledge and further explore a concept. The modules allow you to learn at your own pace. While you can follow the modules in any order, it is recommended that you start with Module 1 and progress through in order. Many of the modules conclude with a Concept Review section. The Concept Review is an opportunity for you to review significant points discussed in a module. The answers to these Concept Review questions can be found in Module 10.
- Open Textbook Library
Catalog of free, peer-reviewed and openly-licensed textbooks developed by the University of Minnesota and collaborating partners.
- ebooks Minnesota
Ebooks Minnesota is an online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.
- Minnesota OER Commons
Tools and resources for educators and subject matter experts in Minnesota to collaboratively evaluate, share, and develop Open Educational Resources for public education.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust, a partnership of academic & research institutions, offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Lumen Learning
Co-founded by open-education visionary Dr. David Wiley and education-technology strategist Kim Thanos, Lumen Learning is dedicated to facilitating broad, successful adoption of OER.
- Merlot: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning & Online Teaching
Merlot is a collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
- OER Commons
OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore, search and/or build open education resources through this network of educators.
Opendora, developed by PALS, is a digital archive for open educational resources that serves as a central repository for Minnesota State faculty and librarians to leverage licensed open educational resources (OER) with the ability to access, load, and share material. Opendora allows the storage of or linking to, course content, including textbooks, lecture notes, syllabi, reading lists and videos.
- Open Stax
OpenStax is a nonprofit based at Rice University. They currently have more than 20 openly licensed college textbooks.
- OPEN SUNY
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
- Saylor Academy
Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.
- eBook Searcher
A search engine app designed specifically for locating over 8 million free ebooks. Download for free on iOS and Android.
- BC Campus : Open Ed
CrowdED Learning provides freely accessible learning tools that reduce barriers for adult learners’ education and employment while promoting persistence and lifelong learning in the digital age.
- Minnesota Libraries Publishing Project
The Minnesota Library Publishing Project (MLPP) provides online publishing tools and training information to support indepedent authors and small publishers. The MLPP is a pilot project coordinated by Minitex and Minnesota's academic and public libraries.
Minnesota Publishing Project platform available to all residents; allows users to easily create professional print and ebook editions of their books.
- Creative Commons
Newer non-profit copyright licensing system has helped online users develop and access a pool of content that can be copied, distributed, edited, remixed, and built upon, all within the boundaries of copyright law.
- Modifying an Open Textbook: What You Need to Know
- Free Photo Search at Pexels
Digital Public Library of America
Many universities, public libraries and other public organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society's digitized cultural heritage.
Published by the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, OER Mythbusting addresses the top seven myths about OER in North American higher education.
Open Oregon Educational Resources
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials. Link to their FAQ site to learn more about OER.
OER Research ToolKit
Resources developed by the Open Education Group (OEG) based at Brigham Young University.
Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN)
OPEN (Open Professionals Education Network) provides free support and technical assistance to all Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College & Career Training grantees with information and professional development.
School of Open
Website for global community of volunteers providing free online courses and training on "openness" in a digital world.
Open Textbook Accessibility
The goal of the Accessibility Toolkit is to provide the resources needed so that each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, teaching assistant, etc. has the opportunity to create a truly open and accessible textbook.