Lake Superior College

Sociology
Magnifying Glass, Human, Head, Faces, Psychology
Article Databases
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's largest database includes full text of thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Updated daily. | View tutorial
Credo Reference Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains imageseref ebook
Search 3,401,406 full text entries in 601 electronic reference books! | View tutorials
EBSCO MegaFILE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Save time and search all four EBSCO databases at once. The EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of the complete content and functionality of Academic Search Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 that currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals. The content on JSTOR comes from a broad range of disciplines, predominantly in the humanities, social sciences, and field sciences. | View tutorial
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Restricted Resource Some full text available
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. It features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites. | View tutorial
Points of View Reference Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of over 250 current issues. | View tutorial
Journal Articles
A to Z Journal Finder Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Looking for a particular journal title? Search journals by title or by category.
Contexts
Print Location: LSC Library PERIODICALS Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Contexts, peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities—it's an indispensable guide to understanding our dynamic society. An official publication of the ASA.
Note: Try logging-in from off-campus using this link: https://mnpals-lsc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MNPALS_LSC/mm9aso/alma9989769618004282
Social Problems Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
​Research publication that covers many areas of sociology including conflict and change; crime and juvenile delinquency, health and mental health; poverty, class, and inequality among other current issues. 
News Databases
Duluth News Tribune Restricted Resource Some full text available
Use Newsbank database to search Duluth's News Tribune for articles.
MasterFILE Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text for popular magazines in all subject areas. Includes reference books, book reviews, biographies, primary source documents, and images. Excellent coverage of consumer information, education, health, science, social science, arts, current events, and more. Includes Consumer Reports, Parenting, Sports Illustrated, Time, Newsweek, People, and thousands of other titles. Updated daily.
NewsBank Special Reports Restricted Resource
NewsBank's Special Reports focuses on topics of current interest. | View tutorial
Streaming Video

Films on Demand Restricted Resource Resource contains video
High-quality video and multimedia providing a wide variety of academic, vocational and life-skills content.  View tutorial
Kanopy Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos.
Websites
InfoPlease: Selected Activists and Reformers Unrestricted Resource
Biographies of a varied list of social activists and reformers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook Unrestricted Resource
A classic reference about occupations from A to Z compiled by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes a description of the work, training and education.
Contact Us!
Booking Icon Font Awesome , Free Transparent Clipart - ClipartKey Bookings
Schedule a 30 minute one-on-one
session with a LSC Librarian!
Live Chat Icon Transparent & PNG Clipart Free Download - YWD Live Chat with a LSC Librarian
Generally available M-F 9am-3pm
Call, email, inbox, message, phone icon Email or call us and we'll respond
within 24 hours M-F, 9am-4pm
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Phone: 218-733-5912
LibAnswers +Social - How 'Suite' It Is! Springshare's Suite ...
Live Chat with AskMN librarians 24/7
Video Icon Icons - Download Free Vector Icons | Noun Project
Introduction: Kate 
Related Guides
Learning Express Library
This website offers resources like free practice tests, interactive tutorials, eBooks, and much more: all you have to do is create a free account!

Learning Express Library Restricted Resource
Free online courses to improve basic skills (Adult Learner), workplace skills (Career Center) college readiness skills (College Center), and computer skills (Computer Skills).
Book Search
Search for books, eBooks, music, ...


Advanced Search


Limit to movies and video


Call Number Locations
HM: Sociology (General)
HN: Social history and conditions, social problems, social reform
HQ: Family, marriage, women
HT: Communities, races, classes
HV: Social pathology, social and public welfare, criminology
Citation Help
APA FAQs Unrestricted Resource
Answers to general questions about APA style.
EasyBib Unrestricted Resource
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats for your bibliography.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
findit = OpenURL enabled
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
elm = ELM
eref = eRef
ebook = eBook


Powered by SubjectsPlus